New Jersey Now Requires Paid Sick Leave Notices for New Hires
By Gordon Middleton
Ten states, plus D.C., have paid sick leave laws.
Many of these state laws also include a requirement to distribute new hire notices. This can be difficult to manage, especially for multi-state employers or employers with a dispersed workforce.
The laws vary greatly, but most require that employers offer up to 40 hours of sick leave in a year.
According to Bloomberg Law, "the laws cover businesses of all sizes, and full-time, part-time, and temporary workers. Multi-state employers not based in those states or jurisdictions with leave laws are not off the hook because most states don’t restrict adherence only to companies within the state. Employers with workers in many of the states will be expected to comply with each state’s law."
New Jersey is the latest state mandating paid sick leave
New Jersey Earned Sick Leave:
Signed May 2, 2018 and effective Oct. 29, 2018
AllNew Jersey employers must provide up to 40 hours paid sick leave per year to covered employees
Employers must post a notification
New hire notices must be distributed
Employers must retain records documenting hours worked by employees and paid sick time for a period of 5 years
Connected and Automated State New Hire Forms Solution
Equifax tracked both the New Jersey and Rhode Island legislation, so the new forms were quickly added to our State Onboarding Compliance solution. Our State Onboarding Compliance solution tracks state legislation and helps you get the right form to the right employee, at the right time. This solution helps you stay on top of the ever-changing new hire notifications. Finally, check out our State Onboarding Compliance solution by registering for an upcoming Compliance Center demo.